Located just east of the town of Beaufort and the Crystal Coast beaches, this small coastal community has retained its small-town charm throughout the centuries, and is a popular destination for fishermen, mariners, and anyone who appreciates a slower pace of life. Linguists from North Carolina State University, East Carolina University, and other academic institutions continue to conduct research on the island dialect..
Similar shell mounds were found by Europeans on the Shackleford Banks and other islands of the Outer Banks.  Harkers Island was involved in the Battle of Beaufort. A wooden structure, the bridge connected the northwestern end of Harkers Island to the small town of Straits directly to the north.
Another phrase is "The ersters hev arroived;" the large fish with a prominent dorsal fin is a "sherk". In 1864, the first school on the island was established when Miss Jenny Bell came to Harkers Island from Boston, sponsored by the Northern Methodist Episcopal Church.  A fish oil factory was built on the island in 1865 and remained operational until 1873. Despite growth in the tourist trades and the local effort to make the island a top destination for waterfowl enthusiasts, Harkers Island continues to have some of the least developed tourist facilities on the Crystal Coast. The road and the post office were connected to the mainland by a ferry service until the Earl C. Davis Memorial Bridge was built in 1941. History of Harkers Island Harkers Island was occupied by Native Americans who stemmed from the Coree tribe for centuries before the first European explorers arrived in the late 1500s. Harkers Island is a census-designated place (CDP) in Carteret County, North Carolina, United States.The population of Harkers Island was 1,623 at the 2007 census. The median income for a household in the CDP was $33,125, and the median income for a family was $35,492. The nearby Core Sound and Core Banks are named after the Coree. When the United States entered World War II, Harkers Island was on the front lines. The last resident had left Diamond City by 1902. The Core Sound Waterfowl Museum is one of the most popular destinations for day-trippers, thanks to its focus on local heritage, live demonstrations, and a scenic locale that’s close to nature trails and natural landscapes. Harkers Island Road, designated as State Road 1335, connects the island to the mainland by the Earl C. Davis Memorial Bridge, a steel swing bridge built in 1968 to replace a wooden bridge built in 1941. "High tide" spoken in Harkers Island English might sound like "hoi toide", "time" sounds like "toime", "fish" is pronounced close to "feesh", "fire" sounds like "far", and "cape" is pronounced "ca'e". Breakfast patrons will find a wide selections of egg dishes, pancakes, waffles, french toast, biscuits and sandwiches, as well as an array of 3-egg omelets. The island became known as Harkers Island soon after his death. Family owned and operated owner Chef Carlo Cappiello sees that every patron leaves the restaurant, both full and happy.
Even graves in the local cemeteries were uprooted and disturbed. The islanders have also developed unique local words used in regular conversation, including "dingbatter" to refer to a visitor or recent arrival to the island, and "dit-dot," a term developed from a joke about Morse code, and used to describe any visitor to the island who has difficulty understanding the local dialect. After purchasing the island, Harker took up residence there with his family and began building a small plantation and boat yard. There were 1,109 housing units at an average density of 435.2 per square mile (167.9/km2). Some emigrated to Morehead City, on the mainland, where they built a new neighborhood soon nicknamed "The Promised Land". , On December 20, 1707, Farnifold Green obtained the first patent for land in the Core Sound area from the Lords Proprietor of the Carolina colony, which had been established by the English monarch Charles II in 1633. Thus, "Hit's so hot the blue crebs hev come up on the poyzer to git in the shade," and "hit was so rough there were whiteceps in the terlet."
Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage (2006). Separated from the mainland for centuries, many Harkers Island residents speak a distinct dialect of English, earning them the nickname "Hoi toiders.".
Telephone service arrived in 1948. Because Harkers Island has a rich history as a destination for exceptional hunting and fishing guides, the roughly half dozen charter businesses that call this region home are well-reviewed for their extensive knowledge of the local fishing grounds and landscape. The school has won the state Battle of the Books competition twice and has been to the competition for four years in a row; both are state records. Before the arrival of European explorers and settlers, Harkers Island was inhabited by Native Americans of the Coree tribe, who likely spoke a language of the Algonquian family, like most coastal tribes. Many Harkers Island fishermen discovered that cottages and other improvements they had made on the Banks were on land that would be condemned.
, The Shackleford Banks played an important economic role for the people of Harkers Island throughout much of the 20th century. A national wave of anti-Mormon sentiment was sparked by the Smoot Hearings in 1904, fueling fears that Mormons secretly continued to practice polygamy. Situated in the heart of downtown Beaufort, and representing a great collection of all-things coastal, this unique little store is a great spot for gifts and assorted treasures that are perfectly suited for life by the water. The fate of an elderly female slave named Badge and a young male slave named Ben was left to the heirs to decide. Diamond City was completely destroyed by the August 17 Hurricane of 1899. A botanist who visited the Banks after the storm described the landscape as completely devastated. The museum also hosts events during Waterfowl Weekend, held on the same weekend as the Decoy Festival.
To the east is Core Sound, to the north is The Straits, and to the northwest is the mouth of the North River.
Harkers Island is an enticing option. The museum building is a 20,000 square feet (1,900 m2) structure located on property leased from the National Park Service. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there were 95.6 males. Harkers Island History officially begins in the early 18th century when the name Harkers Island was made “official.”. Mostly fishermen and whalers, the people of the Outer Banks began openly debating the merits of moving after the Hurricane of 1896. 200 Mangrove Drive, Emerald Isle, NC 28594 The Straits are shallow but navigable by those with local experience. Another hurricane reshaped people’s thinking in 1933.  Ebenezer Jr., James, and Zachariah Harker died in 1803, 1814, and 1824, respectively. , George Pollock sold Craney Island to Ebenezer Harker on September 15, 1730, for £400 and "one boate twentey foot long with oars & mast". Harkers Island retains its original small town appeal – with a year-round population that hovers around 1,200 – but it has certainly become more popular with vacationers who appreciate the quieter side of the Crystal Coast. Retrieved Oct. 16, 2006.
The area is especially well known among professional linguists, who have noted that the regional “Down East” dialect is one of the most unusual in the world. Harkers Island History Harkers Island has been known as Davers Ile and Craney Island, and picked up its current name from Ebenezer Harker who acquired the land in 1730. Follow the signs and enjoy a cruise of the area to explore the byway in its entirety.
Via this brief 30-45 minute boat ride, visitors can explore the Cape Lookout Lighthouse, as well as the miles of beaches that are famed for exceptional fishing and shelling. In 1906, arsonists burned the meetinghouse to the ground. The sheer variety of menu selections is where the Clamdigger Restaurant really shines, and patrons can pop in every day, and find something new to sample. The location of the bridge was a matter of some local controversy at the time.  Despite these difficult beginnings, Harker's Island has one of the highest percentages of residents as members of the Latter-day Saints of any locality in North Carolina..
Revolutionaries used warehouse facilities on Harkers Island to store provisions sought by British troops who had seized the nearby county seat of Beaufort. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, "Geographic Identifiers: 2010 Demographic Profile Data (G001): Harkers Island CDP, North Carolina", A Historical Overview of Harkers Island, with special emphasis on Westmouth and Eastmouth Bays, "The Last Daughter of Davis Ridge: Slavery and Freedom in the Maritime South", A Brief History of Harkers Island and the Dawn of Electricity, "US Gazetteer files: 2010, 2000, and 1990", "Core Sound Waterfowl Museum History: WHY?  The few, if any, descendants of the Harker slaves still living on the island likely left soon after emancipation.
Get a soundfront home if you can. In the following years, Zachariah and his brothers became supporters of the American Revolution, and Zachariah was appointed one of five captains in the Carteret Regiment fighting against the British. Elders of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS Church) proselytized extensively on Harkers Island after the hurricanes.
You can view the. In addition to telling the history of local waterfowl and the traditions of decoy carving, the museum operates exhibits of local historical interest. A new LDS meetinghouse was constructed on the island in the 1930s. A membership cooperative provides the island with electric and water services. The island dialect has also retained anachronistic vocabulary in regular usage. Senator Graham Barden sponsored legislation to dredge the channel and keep it open, and it is now known as Barden Inlet. Hepsobeth inherited "one barrel of corn", and Ebenezer's other married daughter, Sarah Freshwater, was given a female slave named Hope. A majority of the business fall into Retail and Food Services (9) or Construction, Manufacturing, and Warehousing (9). Pollock did not take up residence on the island, but had several farm buildings erected and then leased to settlers. The island was in turn sold to Ebenezer Harker in 1730, who settled on the island with his family, and built a boat yard as well as a plantation on the site.