Clostridium difficile can also be transmitted through food that is infested. Now generally colitis is actually due to a problem within the colon rather than the rest of the body. I work in a hospital and am assuming I somehow got it there. Dogs of any age and of any breed can be affected by clostridium. My mother was diagnosed with C-diff while she was at home recovering from surgery. I got her stool tested the first time which came back positive with giardia. Vomiting and fever may also be present.

Clostridium difficile is found in the digestive tract of healthy puppies, but the naturally resident bacteria population keeps the ratio low enough that no problems result. They will also ask about your dog’s diet and normal daily routine. So really we want to be feeding a bland food that is easily digestible.

These are the antibiotics that are used most frequently for clostridium infections in dogs. Effectively giving an extra dose of those just to try and encourage the re-colonization of the colon or of the intestines with these healthy bacteria. Clostridium in dogs is treatable using oral antibiotics. Does this mean that she has to be on this Rx for the rest of her life. It might be that recovery time is improved by half a day, but it's not making a really significant improvement in that recovery time and there's probably a number of reasons for that. My dog is recovering from a nasty bout of colitis.

Feeding a dog with colitis the best diet is going to help them recover faster and maintain their appetite. Warming it up can help as well.